nomadhere.blogg.se

Bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks
Bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks












bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks

The album scored four Number One hits: “How Deep Is Your Love,” “Stayin' Alive,” and “Night Fever,” by the Bee Gees, and Yvonne Elliman's “If I Can't Have You.” All four hits were written by the Bee Gees - Barry, Maurice, and Robin Gibb. The soundtrack album to Saturday Night Fever, featuring music by the Bee Gees, Yvonne Elliman, KC & The Sunshine Band, Tavares, MFSB, and the Trammps, went on to become the biggest-selling soundtrack of all time, selling over 16 million U.S. I think (Travolta's character) 'Tony' depicted that.” Not so much California, but Studio 54, and the nightlife, and the young people trying to find a future for themselves where without this nightlife, there might not be a future.

bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks

He went on to say that the physical and spiritual vibe of New York City is what drove the song both as a record and as a statement: “'Stayin' Alive' was born of those feelings and the lyric of ' The New York Times' effect on man.' New York, in fact, was having that effect on the whole world at that point. We like the Stylistics and the Delfonics and people who sang in falsetto.” Shortly after Fever's runaway success, Barry Gibb spoke about the music to Rolling Stone explaining, “I didn't know anybody was going to call it disco, but they did.

#Bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks movie#

The song - along with the group's other 1978 Number Ones “How Deep Is Your Love,” and “Night Fever” - was part of the blockbuster soundtrack to the John Travolta movie Saturday Night Fever, which had opened the previous December. What’s your grade?īelow is the scratch-off artwork from the 100 Bucket List poster.It was 44 years ago today (February 4th) in 1978 that the Bee Gees' “Stayin' Alive” began its four-week run at the Number One spot. I guess I’ll give it a B.īrad: That was cheesy. There are so many classic songs but also several I could do without. Jason: What grade would you give this album?īrad: This is a tough one. Jason: Really? Mine is “How Deep Is Your Love?” I like songs with open-ended questions: “How deep is your love?” “Who’s zoomin’ who?” “Who let the dogs out?” Maybe not that last one.īrad: I was going to say “How Deep Is Your Love?” is really cheesy but I guess the whole album is kinda cheesy. That’s my favorite of the Bee Gees songs on this album. Oh, the first :15 seconds of “Jive Talkin’” sounds like the opening to Depeche Mode’s “ Hole to Feed” so I like that.īrad: I don’t really hear that but I love “Jive Talkin'”. Jason: So you want to just change half of the album. “Boogie Shoes” is a timeless classic.īrad: And I don’t really need two versions of “More Than A Woman”. “Manhattan Skyline” sounds like the opening credits to a 70s police drama on CBS.īrad: Also, I could use a longer “Boogie Shoes”. Jason: So basically all the instrumentals. I learned that from RuPaul.īrad: I like most of this but I think I would skip “Calypso Breakdown”, “Manhattan Skyline”, “Open Sesame”, “Salsation”, “K-Jee” & swap out the 10+ minute version of “Disco Inferno” for the 3 minute radio edit. It was so you could hear and identify the song, put down your drink, do a line of coke, kiss a stranger and get out on the dance floor before the song actually started. Jason: One thing that make disco songs long is that they usually have an intro, some of which were as long as a minute. Try every sound on the synthesizer!īrad: I agree. Now let’s have whistling! Try a horn section! Say “ooh-ooh” for 2 minutes. You can identify a disco-era song immediately and they usually spin off in weird directions. Disco mashups. I think those were my favorite as a kid too. And odd! Like “A Fifth of Beethoven” such a weird one.īrad: I love the Classical vs. I like most of the songs but some of the instrumental disco songs are a little long. Jason: I wonder if you played this for a 13-year-old now what they would think. But they have really strange singing voices. I can’t remember a time in my life when I didn’t know what the Bee Gees sounded like. The Bee-Gees have a very unique sound that people liked, I guess? Barry sounds like a ghost on a roller coaster half the time.īrad: I agree. It means it’s such a product of its time. It remains the best selling soundtrack of all time with 45 million sold and has been added to the National Recording Registry in the Library of Congress. Released Novemit stayed atop the album charts for 24 straight weeks then remained on Billboard’s album charts for an additional 96 weeks.














Bee gees saturday night fever on charts for 24 weeks